词汇表

选择左侧的一个关键字...

物理对称

阅读时间: ~5 min
此页面已自动翻译,可能包含错误。如果您想帮助我们审核翻译,请与我们取得联系!

到目前为止,我们所看到的所有对称在某种意义上都是视觉_上的:可见的形状,图像或图案。实际上,对称可以是一个更广泛的概念: _对变化的免疫力

例如,如果您喜欢苹果汁和喜欢橙汁一样多,那么在交换苹果和橙子的转换下,您的偏好是“对称”。

1915年,德国数学家艾米·诺瑟(Emmy Noether)观察到, 自然法则也有相似之处。

例如,我们的经验告诉我们,宇宙中的物理定律都是相同的。无论您是在伦敦,纽约还是在火星上进行实验都没关系-物理定律应始终相同。在某种程度上,它们具有

同样,我们在面对北方,南方或东方或西方时进行实验也没关系:自然定律具有

最后,我们今天,明天还是一年内进行实验都没有关系。自然规律是“时间对称的”。

F =GMmr2 F =GMmr2

这些“对称性”一开始看起来似乎毫无意义,但实际上它们可以告诉我们有关宇宙的很多信息。艾米•诺瑟(Emmy Noether)设法证明每个对称性都对应于一个_守恒_的特定物理量。

例如,时间对称性意味着能量必须在我们的宇宙中守恒:您可以将能量从一种类型转换为另一种类型(例如从光转换为电),但永远不能产生或破坏能量。宇宙中的总能量将始终保持恒定。

CERN is the world’s largest particle accelerator. Scientists smash together fundamental particles at enormous speeds, to learn more about their properties. Can you see the person at the bottom, for size comparison?

The paths taken by particle fragments after a collision

事实证明,仅通过了解对称性,物理学家就可以得出控制我们宇宙的大多数自然法则,而无需进行实验或观察。

对称甚至可以预测基本粒子的存在。一个例子就是著名的希格斯玻色子 :它是在1960年代由理论物理学家预测的,但直到2012年才在现实世界中观察到。

Glossary

Select one of the keywords on the left…

Transformations and SymmetrySymmetry in Physics

Reading time: ~10 min
Reveal all steps

So far, all the symmetries we looked at were visual in some sense: visible shapes, images or patterns. In fact, symmetry can be a much wider concept: immunity to change.

For example, if you like apple juice just as much as you like orange juice, then your preference is “symmetric” under the transformation that swaps apples and oranges.

In 1915, the German mathematician Emmy Noether observed that something similar is true for the laws of nature.

For example, our experience tells us that the laws of Physics are the same everywhere in the universe. It doesn’t matter if you conduct an experiment in London, or in New York, or on Mars – the laws of Physics should always be the same. In a way, they have translational symmetryreflectional symmetry.

Similarly, it shouldn’t matter if we conduct an experiment while facing North, or South, or East or West: the laws of nature have rotational symmetryglide reflection symmetry.

And finally, it shouldn’t matter if we conduct an experiment today, or tomorrow, or in a year. The laws of nature are “time-symmetric”.

F =GMmr2 F =GMmr2

These “symmetries” might initially seem quite meaningless, but they can actually tell us a lot about our universe. Emmy Noether managed to prove that every symmetry corresponds to a certain physical quantity that is conserved.

For example, time-symmetry implies that Energy must be conserved in our universe: you can convert energy from one type to another (e.g. light, or heat or electricity), but you can never create or destroy energy. The total amount of energy in the universe will always stay constant.

CERN is the world’s largest particle accellerator. Scientists smash together fundamental particles at enourmous speeds, to learn more about their properties. Can you see the person at the bottom, for size comparison?

The paths taken by particle fragments after a collision

It turns out that, just by knowing about symmetry, physicists can derive most laws of nature that govern our universe – without ever having to do an experiment or observation.

Symmetry can even predict the existence of fundamental particles. One example is the famous Higgs Boson: it was predicted in the 1960s by theoretical physicists, but not observed in the real world until 2012.