词汇表

选择左侧的一个关键字...

概率引言

阅读时间: ~15 min

概率与可能性无处不在,从天气预报到游戏,从保险到选举投票。然而,在数学史上,概率实际上是一个非常新的概念,虽然2500多年前古希腊数学家就开始研究数字和几何,但概率的概念即是在17、18世纪才出现的。

据传说,两位最伟大的数学家,布莱兹.帕斯卡皮埃尔.费马会定期在巴黎的一家小咖啡馆见面。

为了把注意力从他们正在讨论的复杂数学理论上转移开,他们经常玩一个简单的游戏:重复抛硬币 -- 每次 正面 向上帕斯卡就得一分,每次 反面 向上费马就得一分,抛三次,谁的得分少谁就值钱。

有一天,他们在抛完第一次硬币后不得不结束,费马有争事要离开,后来,他们又想知道该由谁来买单,或者是否有一个公平的分摊方式。第一次硬币正面 向上 (帕斯卡得一分),所以也许费马应该来全部支付,然而,如果 反面 ,费马还是有可能会赢。

帕斯卡和费马决定将继续游戏所有的可能性全部写下来:

HHH

帕斯卡赢

HHT

帕斯卡赢

HTH

帕斯卡赢

HTT

费马赢

这四种结果的可能性都是相等的,这其中有情况帕斯卡会赢。因此他们决定费马应该支付帐单的 3/4,帕斯卡应该支付 1/4。

帕斯卡和费马发现了概率的的第一个重要公式:如果一个实验有多种可能的结果,而且这些结果的可能性都是相等的,那么

事件的概率 = 事件可能发生的次数可能结果的总数.

在我们的例子,帕斯卡赢得游戏的概率是 34=0.75,费马赢得游戏的概率是 14=0.25

什么是概率

概率 是介绍于 0 和 1 之间的一个数字,用来描述 特定事件 发生的可能性。概率为 0 意味着某件事 不可能 发生;概率为 1 意味某件事 必然 会发生。

例如,你遇见一条真正的龙是 ,太阳明天将会升起是 。硬币落地时正面朝上的概率刚好是

掷一个骰子刚掷出 6 的概率或者从一幅牌中抽出特定花色的概率 0.5 -- 这意味着不太可能。一支优秀球队赢得一场比赛的概率或者一列火车准点到达的概率 0.5 -- 这意味着很大可能。

dragondicecardscoinsfootballtrainsun

现在将下列事件按正确顺序拖动,按可能到不可能依次排序:

掷一个骰子 game_die ,刚好得到 6 点
企鹅 penguin 住在北极
11月将要下雨 rain_cloud
今天在中国将诞生一个婴儿 baby_bottle
你买了一张彩票,中了头奖 tada.
一个新生儿是女孩 girl.

我们在日常生活中经常会使用到概率和可能性,通常会不加思考。明天下雨的有多大可能?错过公共汽车的可能性?赢得一场比赛的概率是多少?

抛一枚(均匀的)硬币有两种结果,正面反面_, 它们的可能性相等。根据上面的公式, _正面 朝上的概率一定为 12 = 0.5, or 50%。

请注意,概率值 介于 0 和 1 之间,即使只有一种实际结果发生。概率与实际结果几乎没有关系:如果我们掷一枚硬币多次,我们知道的结果是下面朝上,但我们无法准确预测哪一次是正面朝上的。

即使概率很小的事件(比如中彩票)仍然可能发生 -- 而且它们确实 一直在发生 (只是发生在参与者中极少数人身上)。

概率也取决于我们每个人对事件的熟悉程度,例如,你可能会估计今天下雨的概率是 70%,一个有更详细天气数据的气象学家可能会说下雨的概率是 64.2%。

或者假设我抛一枚硬币,然后用手盖住 -- 反面朝上概率为 50%,现在我偷看了一下结果,但不告诉你。对我来说知道了确定的结果,但对你来说,概率

有多种不同的方式来思考概率,但在实践中,它们得到的结果都一样:

classical probability

The classical probability of landing heads is the proportion of possible outcomes that are heads. 正面朝上的 古典 概率是正面朝上的可能结果的比例

frequentist probability

The frequentist probability is the proportion of heads we get if we toss the coin many times. 频率概率 是如果我们抛 多次 硬币得到正面的比例

subjectivist probability

The subjectivist probability tells us how strongly we believe that the coin will land heads. 主观概率 是我们有多么 坚信 正面会朝上

Remember that while probabilities are great for estimating and forecasting, we can never tell what actually will happen.

预测未来

如果掷一个骰子,结果是1到6之间的一个数字,所有的结果都是等可能的。如果我们一次掷两个骰子,把它们的结果加起来,我们可以得到从的数字。然而,在这种情况下,它们并不是等可能的。

有些结果只能发生一次(得到 12 你必须掷出 + ),而有些结果可能发生多次(得到 5 你可以掷出 + + )。

下面的列表显示了所有可能的结果:

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12

掷两个骰子,最有可能得到的结果是 7 ,有 种可能的结果加起来是 7,可能结果的总数是 因为得到 7 的概率是 636=0.1666

可能性最低的结果是 212 ,它们各自的概率均为 136=0.0277

要预测一次抛硬币或掷骰子的结果是不可能的,然后,运用概率我们可以非常准确地预测 多次 的结果。

如果我们掷 30 次骰子,我们知道大约会有 16×30=5 次得到 6,如果我们掷 300 次,大约会有 16×300=50 次得到 6,随着我们不断地重复掷骰子,预测的结果会越来越准。

在这个动画中,你可以一次掷出多个“虚拟”骰子,查看一下结果与概率预测的比较:

Rolling Dice

我们一次掷出 ${d} 个骰子,记录它们结果的 总和 绿线 代表通过概率理论算出的每种可能结果的概率, 蓝条 显示了在计算生成的实验中每个结果实际发生的频率。

注意,随着我们掷出越来越多的骰子,观察到的频率与通过概率预测的频率越来越接近。这个原则适用于所有的概率实验,被称为 大数定律

类似地,当我们增加一次掷出的骰子数量时,你还可以看到概率从一条直线(一个骰子)变为一个三角形(两个骰子),最后变为一条 "钟形"曲线,这就是所谓的 中心极限定理,钟形曲线被称为 正态分布

Glossary

Select one of the keywords on the left…

ProbabilityIntroduction

Reading time: ~30 min
Reveal all steps

Probabilities and likelihoods are everywhere around us, from weather forecasting to games, insurance or election polls. However, in the history of mathematics, probability is actually a very recent idea. While geometry and algebra were studied by ancient Greek mathematicians more than 2500 years ago, the concepts of probability only emerged in the 17th and 18th century.

According to legend, two of the greatest mathematicians, Blaise Pascal and Pierre de Fermat, would regularly meet up in a small cafe in Paris.

To distract from the difficult mathematical theories they were discussing, they often played a simple game: they repeatedly tossed a coin – every heads was a point for Pascal and every tails was a point for Fermat. Whoever had fewer points after three coin tosses had to pay the bill.

One day, however, they get interrupted after the first coin toss and Fermat has to leave urgently. Later, they wonder who should pay the bill, or if there is a fair way to split it. The first coin landed heads (a point for Pascal), so maybe Fermat should pay everything. However, there is a small chance that Fermat could have still won if the two next tossesnext coin toss would have been tails.

Pascal and Fermat decided to write down all possible ways the game could have continued:

HHH

Pascal wins

HHT

Pascal wins

HTH

Pascal wins

HTT

Fermat wins

All four possible outcomes are equally likely, and Pascal wins in threefourtwo of them. Thus they decided that Fermat should pay 3/4 of the bill and Pascal should pay 1/4.

Pascal and Fermat had discovered the first important equation of probability: if an experiment has multiple possible outcomes which are all equally likely, then

Probability of an event = Number of ways the event could happenTotal number of possible outcomes.

In our example, the probability of Pascal winning the game is 34=0.75, and the probability of Fermat winning the game is 14=0.25.

What are Probabilities

A probability is a number between 0 and 1 which describes the likelihood of a certain event. A probability of 0 means that something is impossible; a probability of 1 means that something is certain.

For example, it is impossiblecertain that you will meet a real life dragon, and it is certainimpossible that the sun will rise tomorrow. The probability of a coin landing heads is exactly in the middlethe same.

The probability of rolling a 6 on a die, or picking a particular suit from a deck of cards is lessmore than 0.5 – which means unlikely. The probability of a good football team winning a match, or of a train arriving on time is moreless than 0.5 – which means likely.

dragondicecardscoinsfootballtrainsun

Here are some more events: drag them into the correct order, from likely to unlikely:

You throw a die game_die and it lands on 6.
Penguins penguin live on the North Pole.
It’s going to rain rain_cloud in November.
A baby will be born in China today. baby_bottle
You buy a lottery ticket and win the Jackpot tada.
A newborn baby will be a girl girl.

We often use probabilities and likelihoods in everyday life, usually without thinking about it. What is the chance of rain tomorrow? How likely is it that I will miss the bus? What is the probability I will win this game?

Tossing a (fair) coin has two possible outcomes, heads and tails, which are both equally likely. According to the equation above, the probability of a coin landing heads must be 12 = 0.5, or 50%.

Note that this probability is in between 0 and 1, even though only one of the outcomes can actually happen. But probabilities have very little to do with actual results: if we toss a coin many times we know that approximately halfexactly halfallnone of the results are heads – but we have no way of predicting exactly which tosses landed heads.

Even events with tiny probabilities (like winning the lottery tada) can still happen – and they do happen all the time (but to a very small proportion of the people who participate).

Probabilities also depend on how much each of us knows about the event. For example, you might estimate that the chance of rain today is about 70%, while a meteorologist with detailed weather data might say the chance of rain is 64.2%.

Or suppose that I toss a coin and cover it up with my hands – the probability of tails is 50%. Now I peek at the result, but don’t tell you. I know for certain what has happened, but for you the probability is still 50%100%not 50%.

There are many different ways to think about probabilities, but in practice they often give the same results:

classical probability

The classical probability of landing heads is the proportion of possible outcomes that are heads.

frequentist probability

The frequentist probability is the proportion of heads we get if we toss the coin many times.

subjectivist probability

The subjectivist probability tells us how strongly we believe that the coin will land heads.

Remember that while probabilities are great for estimating and forecasting, we can never tell what actually will happen.

Predicting the Future

If we roll a dice, the result is a number between 1 and 6, and all outcomes are equally likely. If we roll two dice at once and add up their scores we can get results from up to . However, in this case they are not all equally likely.

Some results can only happen one way (to get 12 you have to roll + ) while others can happen in multiple different ways (to get 5 you could roll + or + ).

This table shows all possible outcomes:

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12

The most likely result when rolling two dice is 7. There are outcomes where the sum is 7, and outcomes in total, so the probability of getting a 7 is 636=0.1666.

The least likely outcomes are 2 and 12, each with a probability of 136=0.0277.

It is impossible to forecast the outcome of a single coin toss or die roll. However, using probability we can very accurately predict the outcome of many dice.

If we throw a die 30 times, we know that we would get around 16×30=5 sixes. If we roll it 300 times, there will be around 16×300=50 sixes. These predictions get more and more accurate as we repeat the predictions more and more often.

In this animation you can roll many “virtual” dice at once and see how the results compare to the predicted probabilities:

Rolling Dice

${ probTable(d) }

We roll ${d} dice at once and record the SUM of their scores. The green lines represent the probabilities of every possible outcome predicted by probability theory and the blue bars show how often each outcome happened in this computer generated experiment.

Notice how, as we roll more and more dice, the observed frequencies become closer and closer to the frequencies we predicted using probability theory. This principle applies to all probability experiments and is called the Law of large numbers.

Similarly, as we increase the number of dice rolled at once, you can also see that the probabilities change from a straight line (one die) to a triangle (two dice) and then to a “bell-shaped” curve. This is known as the Central Limit Theorem, and the bell-shaped curve is called the Normal Distribution.