词汇表

选择左侧的一个关键字...

整除和素数最大公约数

阅读时间: ~5 min

一位建筑师正在为一个18米乘30米的大庭院规划地板,她希望它被正方形瓷砖覆盖,长宽 两个方向没有任何间隙和重叠。她能用正方形的最大尺寸是多少?

瓷砖尺寸:${x}m.

就像之前一样,这个问题不是关于几何的 - 而是关于能否整除的。瓷砖的两个边长必 须同时整除18和30,那么最大可能的数是。这被称为18和30的最大公约数或 简写为gcd。

我们可以再次使用素数因子来计算两个数的最大公约数。记住, 一个数的除数必定包含有这个数的部分素数因子。

18
=
2
×
3
×
3
30
=
2
×
3
×
5

假设X1830的最大公约数.那么X 整除18, 因此X的素数因子也在2, 2_和{span.number-ball.small.l-blue}3_中。同理, X 整除30, 因此X的素数因子也在 2, 3 和 _{span.number-ball.small.l-green}5_中。

要找到X,我们只需要将所有在1830出现的素数相乘:

X  =  2 × 3  =  6.

现在我们有了一个简单的方法来找两个数的最大公约数:

  1. 找到每个数的素数因子。
  2. 将两个数里都出现的素数因子相乘。

素数又一次是特殊的:两个不同质数的最大公约数总是, 因为它们不共有任何素数因子。

密码学

素数在现代最重要的应用之一是在一个称为密码学的数学领域。数千年来,人们一 直试图隐藏信息,以便只有预期的接收者才能读懂它们 —— 这被称为加密。每个人都在 使用加密学,从将军们在战争中交换秘密命令到个人电子邮件或网上银行信息。

人们总是试图想出更好、更安全的加密方法,但一段时间后,他们都被更先进的算法打 破了。在第二次世界大战中,德国军队使用了一种称为“谜”的设备:由键盘、旋转的轮 子和插头组成的复杂机器。它使用了1.58万亿亿(即158后面是18个零!)个可能性中的一 个来加密消息,人们普遍认为密码是不可破解的。但由数学家阿兰·图灵领导的英国特勤 局,制造了首批成功破译密码的计算机。

德国四转子加密机

今天的计算机更先进,每秒能尝试数百万种可能性。为了开发更好的加密算法,你必须 找到一个对强大的计算机来说也很困难的数学运算。计算机在加法、减法、乘法和除法 方面速度惊人。然而,事实证明,计算机将大整数分解成素数的速度非常慢…

敬请期待 – Alice和Bob的RSA示例

这种加密算法被称为非对称加密算法,它的三位发明者: Ron Rivest,Adi Shamir和 Leonard Adleman于1977年发表了这一算法,三人名字的缩写RSA被用来作为该算法 的名字。事实证明,自1973年以来,英国特勤局就掌握了一种非常相似的方法,但一直保 密到很晚。

今天,世界各地的计算机交在换数据中都使用了素数。每当你发送电子邮件或访问一个 安全的网站,你的手机或笔记本电脑就会默默地生成许多大素数,并与其他计算机交换 公共密钥。

Glossary

Select one of the keywords on the left…

Divisibility and PrimesGreatest Common Factors

Reading time: ~15 min
Reveal all steps

An architect is planning the floor for a large courtyard that measures 18m by 30m. She wants it to be covered in quadratic tiles, without any gaps or overlaps along the sides. What is the largest size of squares she can use?

The tiles have a size of ${x}m.

Just like before, this question is not about geometry - it is about divisibility. The length of the sides of the tiles has to divide both 18 and 30, and the largest possible number with that property is . This is called the Greatest Common Factor or gcf of 18 and 30.

Once again, we can use the prime factorisation to calculate the gcf of any two numbers. Remember that any factor of a number must have some of the prime factors of that number.

18
=
2
×
3
×
3
30
=
2
×
3
×
5

Suppose that X is the gcf of 18 and 30. Then X divides 18 so the prime factors of X must be among 2, 3 and 3. Also, X divides 30 so the prime factors of X must be among 2, 3 and 5.

To find X, we simply need to multiply all numbers which are prime factors of bothone of 18 and 30:

X  =  2 × 3  =  6.

Now we have a simple method for finding the gcf of two numbers:

  1. Find the prime factorisation of each number.
  2. Multiple the prime factors which are in both numbers.

Once again prime numbers are special: the gcf of two different primes is always , because they don’t share any prime factors.

Cryptography

One of the most important modern applications of prime numbers is in a field of mathematics called Cryptography. For thousands of years, people have tried to conceal messages so that only the intended recipient could read them – this is called encryption. It is used by everyone from generals exchanging secret orders during wars to personal emails or online banking details.

People always tried to come up with better, more secure encryption methods, but after some time, they were all broken using yet more advanced algorithms. In the Second World War, the German army used the Enigma: a complex machine consisting of a keyboard, rotating wheels and plugs. It encrypted messages using one of 158 million million million possibilities (that’s a 158 followed by 18 zeros!). The code was widely believed to be unbreakable, but the British Secret Service, led by mathematician Alan Turing, built some of the first computers that managed to decode it.

German four-rotor Enigma machine

Today’s computers are much more advanced, capable of trying millions of possibilities every second. To develop better encryption algorithms, you have to find a mathematical operation that is difficult even for powerful computers. Computers are incredibly fast at addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. However, as it turns out, computers are very slow at factorising large integers into primes…

COMING SOON – RSA example with Alice and Bob

This encryption algorithm is called RSA Cryptography, after its three inventors, Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adleman who published it in 1977. It turns out that a very similar method was known to the British Secret Service since 1973, but remained classified until much later.

Today, prime numbers are used by computers all over the world to exchange data. As you browse the internet or send chat messages, your phone or laptop will quietly generate large prime numbers and exchange public keys with other computers.