詞彙表

Select one of the keywords on the left…

整除和素数实际应用

揭示所有步驟

北美是各种各样的蝉群的家园。这些蝉有一种奇特的特性,即它们每隔多年的夏季才出 来繁殖——剩余时间它们在地下度过。

例如,佛罗里达州和密西西比州的蝉每13年出现一次。伊利诺斯州和爱荷华州的蝉只每 17年出现一次。但是没有一种蝉有12年、14年、15年或16年的出现周期。

13和17都是质数 - 这是有充分理由的。想象一下森林里有捕食者杀死了蝉。这些捕食者 也会定期出现,比如每6年出现一次。

现在想象下蝉的出现间隔是每${n}年(${isPrime(n) ? '素数' : '非素数'})。 这两种动物每${lcm(n,6)}年会相遇一次,这就是6和${n}最小公倍数最大公约数乘积

4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

不同的蝉出现周期长度, 决定了蝉和捕食者相遇的时间。

如果蝉的间隔周期是像13和17这样的质数,这个数字看起来就要大得多。这是因为素数 不与6共有任何因子,所以在计算最小公倍数时,我们不会消去任何重复因子。

当然,蝉不知道素数是什么,但在数百万年的时间里,进化证明了素数周期是最安全的。 捕食者似乎已经随着时间的推移而灭绝,但素数周期仍然存在。

密码学

素数在现代最重要的应用之一是在一个称为密码学的数学领域。数千年来,人们一 直试图隐藏信息,以便只有预期的接收者才能读懂它们 —— 这被称为加密。每个人都在 使用加密学,从将军们在战争中交换秘密命令到个人电子邮件或网上银行信息。

人们总是试图想出更好、更安全的加密方法,但一段时间后,他们都被更先进的算法打 破了。在第二次世界大战中,德国军队使用了一种称为“谜”的设备:由键盘、旋转的轮 子和插头组成的复杂机器。它使用了1.58万亿亿(即158后面是18个零!)个可能性中的一 个来加密消息,人们普遍认为密码是不可破解的。但由数学家阿兰·图灵领导的英国特勤 局,制造了首批成功破译密码的计算机。

德国四转子加密机

今天的计算机更先进,每秒能尝试数百万种可能性。为了开发更好的加密算法,你必须 找到一个对强大的计算机来说也很困难的数学运算。计算机在加法、减法、乘法和除法 方面速度惊人。然而,事实证明,计算机将大整数分解成素数的速度非常慢…

敬请期待 – Alice和Bob的RSA示例

这种加密算法被称为非对称加密算法,它的三位发明者: Ron Rivest,Adi Shamir和 Leonard Adleman于1977年发表了这一算法,三人名字的缩写RSA被用来作为该算法 的名字。事实证明,自1973年以来,英国特勤局就掌握了一种非常相似的方法,但一直保 密到很晚。

今天,世界各地的计算机交在换数据中都使用了素数。每当你发送电子邮件或访问一个 安全的网站,你的手机或笔记本电脑就会默默地生成许多大素数,并与其他计算机交换 公共密钥。

Log in to Mathigon

Google
Create New Account

Reset Password     

Share

Send us feedback!

Please let us know if you have any feedback and suggestions, or if you find any errors and bugs in our content.

Sorry, your message couldn’t be submitted. Please try again!

Thanks for your feedback!

Reset Progress

Are you sure that you want to reset your progress, response and chat data for all sections in this course? This action cannot be undone.

Glossary

Select one of the keywords on the left…

Divisibility and PrimesReal Life Applications

Cicadas

North America is home to various broods of cicadas. These have the curious property that they only emerge every few years during the summer to breed – the remaining time they spend underground.

For example, the cicadas in Florida and Mississippi appear every 13 years. The cicadas in Illinois and Iowa only appear every 17 years. But there are no cicadas with 12, 14, 15 or 16 year cycles.

Both 13 and 17 are prime numbers – and that has a very good reason. Imagine that there are predators in the forest which kill cicadas. These predators also appear in regular intervals, say every 6 years.

Now imagine that a brood of cicadas appears every ${n} years (${isPrime(n) ? 'prime' : 'not prime'}). The two animals would meet every ${lcm(n,6)} years, which is the of 6 and ${n}.

4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Time until cicadas and predators meet, for various different cicada cycle lengths.

This number seems to be much larger if the cicada cycle is a prime number like 13 and 17. That‘s is because prime numbers don‘t share any factors with 6, so when calculating the lcm we don‘t cancel any duplicate factors.

Of course, cicadas have no idea what prime numbers are – but over millions of years, evolution has worked out that prime cycles are the safest. The predator animal seems to have gone extinct over time, but the prime number cycles remain.

Cryptography

One of the most important modern applications of prime numbers is in a field of mathematics called Cryptography. For thousands of years, people have tried to conceal messages so that only the intended recipient could read them – this is called encryption. It is used by everyone from generals exchanging secret orders during wars to personal emails or online banking details.

People always tried to come up with better, more secure encryption methods, but after some time, they were all broken using yet more advanced algorithms. In the Second World War, the German army used the Enigma: a complex machine consisting of a keyboard, rotating wheels and plugs. It encrypted messages using one of 158 million million million possibilities (that’s a 158 followed by 18 zeros!). The code was widely believed to be unbreakable, but the British Secret Service, led by mathematician Alan Turing, built some of the first computers that managed to decode it.

German four-rotor Enigma machine

Today’s computers are much more advanced, capable of trying millions of possibilities every second. To develop better encryption algorithms you have to find a mathematical operations that is difficult for a powerful computers. Computers are incredibly fast at addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. However, as it turns out, computers are very slow at factorising large integers into primes…

COMING SOON – RSA example with Alice and Bob

This encryption algorithm is called RSA Cryptography, after its three inventors, Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adleman who published it in 1977. It turns out that a very similar method was known to the British Secret Service since 1973, but remained classified until much later.

Today, prime numbers are used by computers all over the world to exchange data. Whenever you send an email or visit a secure website, your phone or laptop quietly generates large prime numbers and exchanges public keys with other computers.